Founding Directors of the SMALP network

Michael Overduin

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Executive Director, NANUC at the University of Alberta, Canada

Tim Knowles

Lecturer in Biophysics, School of Biosciences, University of Birmingham, UK

Tim Dafforn

Professor, School of Biosciences, University of Birmingham and Chief Scientific Adviser, UK Department for Business, Innovation and Skills

SMALP Network co-Directors

tomas-laursenTomas Laursen, Post Doctoral Researcher at the Joint BioEnergy Institute, California, USA




jana broeckerJana Broecker, Postdoctoral DFG Fellow, Structural Neurobiology Lab, University of Toronto

oliver ernstOliver Ernst, Professor and Head of Structural Neurobiology Lab, University of Toronto

Bert-KlupermanBert Klumperman, South African Research Chair in Advanced Macromolecular Architectures at the Department of Chemistry and Polymer Science at Stellenbosch University

We are grateful to the growing international community of users and developers of the SMALP system, as well as the funders including the Royal Society, BBSRC, Alberta Innovates and the European Commission.

We look forward to offering meetings, protocols, and facilities for the SMALP method to support your research plans and efforts.

We also welcome opportunities for contributing to collaborative projects and consortia. Thank you for your interest, and do feel free to contact us.